Hudson's Bipartisan Bill to Enhance Transportation Security Passes the U.S. Congress

September 16, 2015 
Hudson’s Bipartisan Bill to Enhance Transportation Security Passes the U.S. Congress
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (NC-08), former Chairman of the Subcommittee on Transportation Security, released the following statement after a bipartisan bill he authored last Congress, the Gerardo Hernandez Airport Security Act (H.R. 720), unanimously passed the U.S. Congress.
“As threats to our security continue to grow and evolve, we must ensure our transportation community is prepared to protect themselves and the traveling public. This bill will create safer airports and transportation hubs across the country by providing more extensive coordination between all transportation security stakeholders. Given the partisan gridlock in Washington, I am proud of the support from folks on both sides of the aisle, and I encourage the president to join us in our efforts to keep travelers safe.”
To watch Rep. Hudson’s remarks in support of this bill, click here.
The Gerardo Hernandez Airport Security Act was introduced by Rep. Hudson in the 113th Congress to address the lessons learned from the tragic shooting at LAX in 2013 that claimed the life of TSA Officer Gerardo Hernandez. It was Rep. Hudson’s second piece of stand-alone legislation to pass the U.S. House of Representatives during his first term in Congress.
As Chairman, Rep. Hudson held a field hearing at LAX in March of 2014 to review the findings of various assessments of the tragedy and discuss potential changes to emergency response protocols at airports nationwide. The following May, the Subcommittee on Transportation Security held a follow-up hearing on Capitol Hill to determine what lessons can be applied to better protect airports from active shooters.
  • Office Locations Push

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington, DC Office 2112 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 225-3715
    Fax: (202) 225-4036
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-6:00pm
    Concord Office 325 McGill Avenue, NW
    Suite 500
    Concord, NC 28027
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Fax: (704) 782-1004
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Fayetteville Office 225 Green Street, Suite 202
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Phone: (910) 997-2070
    Fax: (910) 817-7202
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Pinehurst Office  Sandhills Community College
    Logan Building, Room 221
    3395 Airport Road
    Pinehurst, NC 28374
    (910) 246-5374
    Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:30am-5:30pm
    and by appointment
    Albemarle Office   Stanly County Commissioner's Office, Suite 9
    1000 N. First Street
    Albemarle, NC 28001
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Hours: Third Thursday of Every Month, 9:30am-12pm


    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  

Footer Survey

*By answering this survey, you are subscribing to my newsletter.