Skip to main content

Hudson Urges VA to Support Rural Veterans

August 11, 2021

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (NC-08) joined 80 of his colleagues in sending a bipartisan letter today to the Secretary of Veterans Affairs, Denis McDonough, urging him to prioritize care for rural veterans. Historically, veterans in rural areas have faced challenges with accessing quality care because many of the VA's resources are devoted to urban areas. The letter discusses improving overall access to care for rural veterans through creative solutions, cross-agency collaboration, public-private partnerships, and improved rural broadband.

"As Fort Bragg's Congressman, I am focused on helping veterans, caregivers and their families receive the support they deserve from the VA," said Rep. Hudson. "When it comes to accessing essential care and services, far too many veterans in rural communities face unnecessary barriers. Connecting rural families with broadband has been a longstanding priority for me, and there has never been a more important time to take action on this and other solutions. I am committed to ensuring that veterans in our rural communities receive the same standards of care they are owed."

Led by Representative Ronny Jackson (TX-13), the initiative is supported by House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23), House Republican Conference Chairwoman Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Chief Deputy Whip Drew Ferguson (GA-03), House Armed Services Committee Ranking Member Mike Rogers (AL-03), and House Foreign Affairs Committee Lead Republican Michael McCaul (TX-13).

The full letter can be found here.

Co-signers also include Representatives Kevin Brady (TX-08), Jared Golden (ME-02), Tony Gonzales (TX-23), Henry Cuellar (TX-28), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Van Taylor (TX-03), Pat Fallon (TX-04), August Pfluger (TX-11), Randy Weber (TX-14), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Jodey Arrington (TX-19), Beth Van Duyne (TX-24), Michael Burgess (TX-26), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Brian Babin (TX-36), John Rose (TN-06), Tom Cole (OK-04), Jim Banks (IN-03), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Frank Lucas (OK-03), Rob Wittman (VA-01), Adrian Smith (NE-03), Glenn 'GT' Thompson (PA-15), Michael Waltz (FL-06), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Tom Rice (SC-07), Carol Miller (WV-03), Vicky Hartzler (MO-04), David Joyce (OH-14), Ken Buck (CO-04), Yvette Herrell (NM-02), Diana Harshbarger (TN-01), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Don Bacon (NE-02), Jason Smith (MO-08), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), David McKinley (WV-01), Greg Pence (IN-06), Bill Johnson (OH-06), Jerry Carl (AL-01), Fred Keller (PA-12), Jay Obernolte (CA-08), Scott Franklin (FL-15), Lisa McClain (MI-10), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Greg Steube (FL-17), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Andrew Clyde (GA-09), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Alex Mooney (WV-02), Trent Kelly (MS-01), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Barry Moore (AL-02), Cliff Bentz (OR-02), Richard Hudson (NC-08), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Peter Meijer (MI-03), Mark Green (TN-07), Julia Letlow (LA-05), Tim Walberg (MI-07), Daniel Webster (FL-11), John Katko (NY-24), Claudia Tenney (NY-22), Kevin Hern (OK-01), Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), Bob Good (VA-05), Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Ted Budd (NC-13), Jake LaTurner (KS-02), Matt Gaetz (FL-01), Markwayne Mullin (OK-02), Chris Jacobs (NY-27), and Ben Cline (VA-06).