Hudson Statement on Opportunity Zone Conference with Mayor Colvin, Sec. Copeland

April 17, 2019
Hudson Statement on Opportunity Zone Conference with Mayor Colvin, Sec. Copeland
WASHINGTON, D.C.– U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (NC-08) released the following statement on today’s Opportunity Zone Conference at the White House with North Carolina Secretary of Commerce Tony Copeland, Fayetteville Mayor Mitch Colvin and other state, local, tribal and community leaders:
“I appreciate President Trump for continuing this important conversation with Mayor Colvin, Secretary Copeland and other local leaders to maximize opportunity zones and help foster job growth,” said Rep. Hudson. “This is why I worked so hard to have opportunity zones included in the tax reform legislation and why I worked to make sure communities in my district like Fayetteville were included.”
Today the White House is hosting an Opportunity Zone Conference with state, local, tribal and community leaders, including:
  • Mitch Colvin, Mayor of Fayetteville        
  • George Austin, Chairman, Yadkin County             
  • Frank Williams, Commissioner, Brunswick County           
  • Tony Copeland, North Carolina Secretary of Commerce  
As part of the landmark reform, the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act created Opportunity Zones to spur investment, economic growth and jobs in economically disadvantaged, struggling and low-income communities throughout the country. The U.S. Treasury certified 252 areas in North Carolina as official Opportunity Zones, opening a new source of investment capital and economic growth for places and people who need it most. This is the first new community development tax incentive program signed into law since the Clinton Administration. New investments in Opportunity Zones can receive preferential tax treatment.
Under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, states nominate low-income communities to be designated as Qualified Opportunity Zones, which are eligible for the tax benefit. Qualified Opportunity Zones retain this designation for 10 years. Investors can defer tax on any prior gains until no later than December 31, 2026, so long as the gain is reinvested in a Qualified Opportunity Fund, an investment vehicle organized to make investments in Qualified Opportunity Zones. 
The 252 tracts in North Carolina feature:
  • A total population over 1.1 million North Carolinians
  • Nearly 45,000 families with children in poverty
  • Over 50,000 business establishments
  • Over $580 million already invested in these areas, from both public and private sources over the past five years
  • Office Locations Push

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington, DC Office 2112 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 225-3715
    Fax: (202) 225-4036
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-6:00pm
    Concord Office 325 McGill Avenue, NW
    Suite 500
    Concord, NC 28027
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Fax: (704) 782-1004
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Fayetteville Office 225 Green Street, Suite 202
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Phone: (910) 997-2070
    Fax: (910) 817-7202
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Pinehurst Office  Sandhills Community College
    Logan Building, Room 221
    3395 Airport Road
    Pinehurst, NC 28374
    (910) 246-5374
    Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:30am-5:30pm
    and by appointment
    Albemarle Office   Stanly County Commissioner's Office, Suite 9
    1000 N. First Street
    Albemarle, NC 28001
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Hours: Third Thursday of Every Month, 9:30am-12pm


    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  

Footer Survey

*By answering this survey, you are subscribing to my newsletter.