Hudson, Ellmers Amendment to Prohibit Inactivation of 440th AW Passes House

May 15, 2015
Hudson, Ellmers Amendment to Prohibit Inactivation of 440th AW Passes House
WASHINGTON, D.C. - Today, U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (NC-08) issued the following statement after the House passed the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2016 (H.R. 1735), including an amendment he cosponsored with Rep. Renee Ellmers (NC-02) to protect the 440th Airlift Wing at Fort Bragg from inactivation:
“As turmoil explodes across the globe and barbaric terrorist like ISIS and murderous regimes like Iran seek to destroy our country, America must maintain a strong system for defense. Today’s legislation is a step in the right direction to address the growing threats we face and our shrinking position on the global stage.
“Additionally, it continues the fight to keep the 440th operating and forces the Secretary of Defense to prove that the closure will not hinder our readiness – an impossible feat. This air wing puts the ‘air’ in the Airborne and is vital to ensure our rapid reaction forces are prepared for deployment at a moment's notice. I applaud Congresswoman Ellmers’s leadership and will continue to be steadfast in my efforts to keep the doors at the 440th open and prevent devastating cuts to our forces at Fort Bragg."
Click hereto read the amendment that prohibits funds from being used to deactivate the 440th Airlift Wing until the Secretary of Defense certifies that this movement will have no impact on Airborne and Special Operations units readiness.
  • Office Locations Push

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington, DC Office 2112 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 225-3715
    Fax: (202) 225-4036
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-6:00pm
    Concord Office 325 McGill Avenue, NW
    Suite 500
    Concord, NC 28027
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Fax: (704) 782-1004
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Fayetteville Office 225 Green Street, Suite 202
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Phone: (910) 997-2070
    Fax: (910) 817-7202
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Pinehurst Office  Sandhills Community College
    Logan Building, Room 221
    3395 Airport Road
    Pinehurst, NC 28374
    (910) 246-5374
    Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:30am-5:30pm
    and by appointment
    Albemarle Office   Stanly County Commissioner's Office, Suite 9
    1000 N. First Street
    Albemarle, NC 28001
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Hours: Third Thursday of Every Month, 9:30am-12pm


    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  

Footer Survey

*By answering this survey, you are subscribing to my newsletter.