Hudson's TSA Reform Bill Receives Unanimous, Bipartisan Support


October 29, 2013

Hudson’s TSA Reform Bill Receives Unanimous, Bipartisan Support

WASHINGTON- Despite an unprecedented level of partisan gridlock in Washington, it was demonstrated today that hard work and bipartisan outreach can lead to results. The House Homeland Security Committee unanimously passed H.R. 2719, the Transportation Security Acquisition Reform Act, a bill sponsored by U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (NC-08).

“As Chairman of the Transportation Security Subcommittee, my goal is to hold TSA accountable while ensuring the safety of the American people and responsible stewardship of our tax dollars,” said Rep. Hudson. “Today’s bipartisan bill demonstrates that Democrats and Republicans can work together, and I’m proud of the progress we are making on such an important issue.”

The Transportation Security Acquisition Reform Act introduces greater transparency and accountability for TSA spending decisions through a series of commonsense reforms.  Specifically, it requires TSA to:

  • Develop and share with the public, for the first time, a strategic, multiyear technology investment plan,
  • Share key information with Congress on technology acquisitions, including cost overruns, delays, or technical failures within 30 days of identifying the problem,
  • Establish principles for managing equipment in inventory to eliminate expensive storage of unusable or outdated technologies, and
  • Report on its goals for contracting with small businesses.

Original cosponsors of the Transportation Security Acquisition Reform Act include Homeland Security Committee Chairman Michael McCaul (R-TX), Homeland Security Committee Ranking Member Bennie Thompson (D-MS), and Transportation Security Subcommittee Ranking Member Cedric Richmond (D-LA).


  • Office Locations Push

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington, DC Office 2112 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 225-3715
    Fax: (202) 225-4036
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-6:00pm
    Concord Office 325 McGill Avenue, NW
    Suite 500
    Concord, NC 28027
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Fax: (704) 782-1004
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Fayetteville Office 225 Green Street, Suite 202
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Phone: (910) 997-2070
    Fax: (910) 817-7202
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Pinehurst Office  Sandhills Community College
    Logan Building, Room 221
    3395 Airport Road
    Pinehurst, NC 28374
    (910) 246-5374
    Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:30am-5:30pm
    and by appointment
    Albemarle Office   Stanly County Commissioner's Office, Suite 9
    1000 N. First Street
    Albemarle, NC 28001
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Hours: Third Thursday of Every Month, 9:30am-12pm


    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  

Footer Survey

*By answering this survey, you are subscribing to my newsletter.