Hudson Statement on INF Treaty

August 2, 2019
Hudson Statement on INF Treaty
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (NC-08), a member of the U.S. Helsinki Commission, released the following statement after the Trump Administration announced the United States will formally withdraw from the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF) Treaty after Russia failed to honor its treaty obligations:
“Russia made a mockery of the INF Treaty and denied every opportunity to comply,” said Rep. Hudson. “I applaud President Trump and his administration for leading from a position of strength. America and our allies will not turn a blind eye to the Kremlin’s brazen actions as we strive for effective arms control, disarmament and non-proliferation.”
Russia remains in violation of the INF Treaty, despite years of U.S. and NATO Allies engagement, including a final opportunity over six months to honor its treaty obligations. As a result, the United States decision to withdraw from the treaty, a decision fully supported by NATO Allies, is now taking effect.
Rep. Hudson has continued to be a strong and vocal critic of Russia, condemning Moscow’s aggression and supporting increased pressure and sanctions. In July, he presented amendments to a resolution at the 2019 OSCE Parliamentary Assembly (OSCE PA) Annual Session to clarify that Russian non-compliance was at the root of the collapse of the INF Treaty regime and to call for the preservation of effective international arms control, non-proliferation and disarmament measures by all participating States.
Last year, Rep. Hudson sent a letter to President Donald Trump voicing his strong support for the president’s leadership regarding the INF Treaty and Russian aggression. To read the letter, click here
  • Office Locations Push

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington, DC Office 2112 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 225-3715
    Fax: (202) 225-4036
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-6:00pm
    Concord Office 325 McGill Avenue, NW
    Suite 500
    Concord, NC 28027
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Fax: (704) 782-1004
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Fayetteville Office 225 Green Street, Suite 202
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Phone: (910) 997-2070
    Fax: (910) 817-7202
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Pinehurst Office  Sandhills Community College
    Logan Building, Room 221
    3395 Airport Road
    Pinehurst, NC 28374
    (910) 246-5374
    Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:30am-5:30pm
    and by appointment
    Albemarle Office   Stanly County Commissioner's Office, Suite 9
    1000 N. First Street
    Albemarle, NC 28001
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Hours: Third Thursday of Every Month, 9:30am-12pm


    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  

Footer Survey

*By answering this survey, you are subscribing to my newsletter.