House passes bill to limit TSA airline security fees

The House on Wednesday passed legislation to limit airline passenger security fees imposed by the Transportation Security Administration.

Passed 423-0, the measure would only allow the TSA to charge $5.60 per one-way trip and $11.20 per round trip.

Rep. Richard Hudson (R-N.C.), the bill's sponsor, said it was necessary because the TSA had misinterpreted the increase on airline security fees outlined by the 2013 budget agreement by charging more than twice the amount for round trips as for one-way trips.

"H.R. 5462 looks to correct this overreach and save American taxpayers from having to shell out millions of dollars in extra fees," Hudson said. "Reducing the burden on airline passengers benefits everyone — from helping families save money when taking a vacation to cutting costs for our small businesses whose employees travel for work."

Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Texas) said the legislation would ensure that passengers pay reasonable fees for round trips, instead of more than twice the cost of a one-way trip.

"Simply put, this straightforward, bipartisan legislation will ensure that passengers are no longer charged air transportation fees above and beyond what Congress envisioned and intended," Jackson Lee said.

After the vote, the U.S. Travel Association said that while the measure was an "improvement," user fees should only go toward TSA projects that directly benefit passengers instead of anything unrelated to the agency.

"[E]ven with this notable improvement, we still believe the current TSA fee fails to meet a critical criterion for acceptable travel user fees," U.S. Travel Association President and CEO Roger Dow said in a statement.


The Hill, By: Cristina Marcos

  • Office Locations Push

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington, DC Office 2112 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 225-3715
    Fax: (202) 225-4036
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-6:00pm
    Concord Office 325 McGill Avenue, NW
    Suite 500
    Concord, NC 28027
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Fax: (704) 782-1004
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Fayetteville Office 225 Green Street, Suite 202
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Phone: (910) 997-2070
    Fax: (910) 817-7202
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Pinehurst Office  Sandhills Community College
    Logan Building, Room 221
    3395 Airport Road
    Pinehurst, NC 28374
    (910) 246-5374
    Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:30am-5:30pm
    and by appointment
    Albemarle Office   Stanly County Commissioner's Office, Suite 9
    1000 N. First Street
    Albemarle, NC 28001
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Hours: Third Thursday of Every Month, 9:30am-12pm


    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  

Footer Survey

*By answering this survey, you are subscribing to my newsletter.