Congressman Richard Hudson Honored for Strong Support of U.S. Airport Industry

WASHINGTON— Airports Council International-North America (ACI-NA) today announced that Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.) is the recipient of the 2014 ACI-NA Commissioners Congressional Leadership Award, in recognition of his support of the U.S. airport industry. Specifically, Congressman Hudson’s leadership in the House of Representatives was instrumental in advocating risk-based security programs and working with his colleagues to ensure airports weren’t immediately saddled with a decision by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) to shift responsibility for monitoring exit lanes to airports.

Congressman Hudson was elected in November 2012 to represent North Carolina’s 8th Congressional District. He is the founder of a business-development and strategic-communications consultancy located in Concord, N.C., and previously was the district director for his predecessor, Congressman Robin Hayes (R).

As chairman of the House Transportation Security Subcommittee, Congressman Hudson emerged as a strong advocate of risk-based security initiatives and airports as they attempted to express their frustration regarding the TSA’s May 2013 decision to transition exit-lane monitoring responsibilities to airports. Bipartisan collaboration in the House of Representatives to oppose this rule was critical in including a reversal of this decision in the December 2013 federal budget agreement, as well as paving the way for trusted-traveler and other risk-based programs.

“Congressman Hudson’s efforts to resolve the exit lane issue for airports reduced unnecessary costs for our industry, and his support of risk-based security initiatives promotes efficiencies for airports and their passengers,” said Shirley James, chair of the ACI-NA Commissioners Committee and a member of the Savannah Airport Commission.  “We are very pleased to recognize Congressman Hudson and his advocacy on behalf of airports with the 2014 ACI-NA Commissioners Congressional Leadership Award.”

The ACI-NA Commissioners Congressional Reception will be held this Wednesday, March 26, 6:00-8:00 p.m. at the Capitol Hill Club in Washington, D.C.

  • Office Locations Push

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington, DC Office 2112 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 225-3715
    Fax: (202) 225-4036
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-6:00pm
    Concord Office 325 McGill Avenue, NW
    Suite 500
    Concord, NC 28027
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Fax: (704) 782-1004
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Fayetteville Office 225 Green Street, Suite 202
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Phone: (910) 997-2070
    Fax: (910) 817-7202
    Hours: M-F 8:30am-5:30pm
    Pinehurst Office  Sandhills Community College
    Logan Building, Room 221
    3395 Airport Road
    Pinehurst, NC 28374
    (910) 246-5374
    Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:30am-5:30pm
    and by appointment
    Albemarle Office   Stanly County Commissioner's Office, Suite 9
    1000 N. First Street
    Albemarle, NC 28001
    Phone: (704) 786-1612
    Hours: Third Thursday of Every Month, 9:30am-12pm


    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  

Footer Survey

*By answering this survey, you are subscribing to my newsletter.